New Jersey Wage & Hour Law

Farm Work — Minimum Rates 2024

All farm laborers 18 years of age and over in New Jersey must be paid a minimum of $12.81 per hour effective January 1, 2024. Employees
engaged on a piece-rate basis to labor on a farm shall be paid for each day worked not less than the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied
by the total number of hours worked. Farm workers, therefore, must earn not less than $12.81 per hour even if they work at piece rates. For
example, if they work 10 hours in one day either at piece rates or time rates they must earn at least $128.10. The following chart shows the
minimum wages to be paid based on the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the total number of hours worked:

1hour.....ccco...... $12.81
2hours................ $25.62
3hours ............... $38.43
4hours ............... $51.24
5hours ............... $64.05

Overtime Rates

Labor on a farm is exempt from the premium overtime provisions of
the law. Workers employed in the first processing of farm products
must be paid overtime in accordance with the wage order for such
employment.

Minors

Minors under 18 in agricultural work are not covered by the New
Jersey Minimum Wage but may be covered by the Federal Wage
and Hour rates. Minors in the first processing of farm products are
covered by the minimum wage rates in the wage order.

Children must be at least 12 years old to work on a farm and must
have working permits between 12 and 16. Minors under 16 cannot
work during the hours which they are required to be in school and
they cannot work outside of school hours more than 10 hours in
any day, more than 60 hours in a week and not more than 6 days in
a row.

Records

All employers must keep records of hours worked and wages paid
to his employees. If a crew leader is involved in the payment of
wages or other compensation he must keep certain records for

all workers to whom payments are made. These records must

be available for inspection by the Division of Wage and Hour
Compliance. These specific records must include:

Place of work

Names of all workers to whom payments are made
Addresses of all workers to whom payments are made
Gross payment

Deductions

The number of units of time (hours) employed

The rate per unit of time (hourly rate)

The number of units of work performed if on piece work
The rate per unit of work

©COeNOGOAWN=

Payments to Workers

1. Employees working on a daily basis must be paid daily.
2. Payment must be made on the same premises that the work
was done.

6 hours.....ccco....... $76.86

7hours......cccvne.... $89.67

8hours......c.......... $102.48

9 hours.....cccvveen... $115.29

10 hours................ $128.10
Violations

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be
guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall be
punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided
by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to assess
and collect administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for
a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for each subsequent
violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an administrative
fee equal to not less than 10% or more than 25% of any payment
due to employees.

Crew Leader Act

A crew leader may not terminate, suspend, demote, transfer, or
take adverse action against any seasonal farm worker in retaliation
for the worker’s exercising any of his rights under State or Federal
laws and regulations. A worker cannot agree with the crew leader to
waive any of his rights.

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be
guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall be
punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided
by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to impose a
penalty not exceeding $500 for any violation of this act or of any
rule or regulation duly issued hereunder.

Employers must supply the following information in writing to each
employee with each wage payment:

Name and address of the employer

Name and social security number of the employee
Total hours worked

Gross pay

ltemized deductions

Net pay

Enforced by: NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Division of Wage & Hour Compliance, PO Box 389, Trenton, NJ 08625-0389
This and other required employer posters are available free online at nj.gov/labor

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer with
equal opportunity programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.
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